Skip Navigation



The Emory University Woodruff Health Science Center (WHSC) oversees the Emory University School of Medicine, Rollins School of Public Health, Nell Hodgson School of Nursing, and Emory Healthcare, which includes the Emory system of hospitals, clinics and joint venture partners.  More detailed information about the WHSC is available online at WHSC at A Glance, 2013.  View the WHSC organization chart here: WHSC Org Chart

The Emory Department of Family and Preventive Medicine is one of twenty clinical science departments within the Emory University School of Medicine and Emory Healthcare.    There are an additional eight Basic Science departments in the School of Medicine. Link here to review the  School of Medicine Org Chart.

The Emory Family Medicine Clinic at Dunwoody, the primary Family Medicine Residency training site, is one of five Emory Healthcare community-based primary care clinics. The facility was designed to be a community-based Patient Centered Medical Home by Dr. Lawrence Lutz, department Chair at that time, and opened its door in the summer of 2010. The clinic nursing and administration staff members are employees of Emory Healthcare.    Emory University Hospital at Midtown is the Family Medicine Residency Program sponsor and site for inpatient services provided by physician faculty and residents.  Link and learn more about Emory University Hospital at Midtown.

 The department houses five (5) divisions:

  1. Community Health
  2. Family Medicine
  3. Preventive Medicine
  4. Physician Assistant
  5. Southeast AIDS Training and Education Center

Formal educational programs include:

The Family Medicine Division is responsible for theEmory Family Medicine Clinic at Dunwoody, Behavioral Medicine Programs, Medical Student Programs, and the Special Projects office.   Department affiliates and community partners include the Emory University Student Health and Counseling Center, the Atlanta VA Medical Center, Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta, Wesley Woods Geriatric CenterRollins School of Public Health, CDC, American Cancer Society, the Georgia Departments of Public HealthCommunity Health, Labor, Human Resources, and Corrections, DeKalb and Fulton County Health Departments, and the Georgia Statewide Area Health Education Center Network.  

Link to view the Department organizational chart 

Learn more about the Department's leadership by linking to the Leadership Directory.