Skip Navigation

Program Highlights



Congratulations to Dr. Eva Rimler (not pictured) and Dr. Phillip Rogers for receiving a 2017 Dean’s Teaching Award!


Society of Teachers of Family Medicine Conference on Medical Student Education was held in Anaheim, California. Student Programs Coordinator, Porsha Clayton, presented on the topic of How to Bring about Knowledge and Change through FMIG.


4th Annual Meet and Greet

Our annual meet and greet is held at the home of Dr. Emily Herndon who is the Family Medicine Interest Group (FMIG) advisor. Each year the FMIG hosts an informal gathering to celebrate the Emory M4’s who’ve matched to Family Medicine. Congratulations to Leila Myrick, Helen Ashton, Candace Markley, Rosemary Song, Juan-Manuel Duran, Ryan Smith, and Justin Kappel.


Family Medicine Interest Group Lunch Time Talk

Family Medicine Interest Group hosted a Lunch Time Talk at the School of Medicine on Fellowships after your Family Medicine Residency. The FMIG provided fellowship information on Women’s Health, Primary Care Sports Medicine, and the Preventive Medicine Residency Program. Drs. Matt McKenna, Amadeus Mason, Ashley McCann, and Kathrine Nanos attended as our guest panelist.

2nd Annual Spring Bash

The Adult Primary Care Clerkship hosted its second preceptor appreciation gathering at Slingshot Entertainment. The APC Clerkship invites its preceptors and their family members to join us for a day filled with fun! This year we enjoyed bowling, obstacle courses, and go karts. We appreciate our wonderful preceptors and the positive impacts they are making on our students!


Class of 2017 Graduation

Congratulations to Leila Myrick for winning the T.A. Sappington Award from the GAFP


Faculty, residents and medical students attending the 2017 National Conference in Kansas City, MO

Congratulations for our Primary Care Top Doctors for 2017!!

Sharon H. Bergquist, MD

Emory Clinic Internal Medicine

Dwana M. Bush, MD

Integrative Health Clinic

Michael P. Seyfried, MD

Emory Practice Associates

Phillip R. Rogers, MD

Emory Practice Associates

Ralph D. Peeler III, MD

Chamblee- Family Practice

Steven O. Stewart, MD

Stewart Family Medicine

Susana Alfonso, MD

Emory Family Medicine-Dunwoody


Family Medicine Interest Group Annual Family Medicine Dinner Panel

The Family Medicine Interest Group hosted their annual Family Medicine dinner panel. The purpose of this event is to show students the breadth of Family Medicine. This year we held the event speed dating style!! The GAFP President, Dr. Eddie Richardson, was the key note speaker. After his presentation, students were able to participate in a breakout session and speak with different physicians on topics such as women’s health, primary care sports medicine, residency, preventive medicine, research, and much more.


Congratulations to John Diehl on being selected as the STFM Student Scholar for 2018!


Annual OPEX, Pediatrics, and Adult Primary Care Appreciation Dinner

Congratulations to Dr. Kommerina Daling on being awarded the 2017 Preceptor of the Year for the Adult Primary Care Clerkship! Dr. Daling practices in Oakwood, GA at the Longstreet Clinic, P.C.

1st Annual FMIG Leadership Retreat
We said goodbye to our 2016 – 2017 leaders and welcome to the new 2017 – 2018 leaders during our first ever FMIG Leadership Retreat. We successfully completed our team building exercise at Mastermind Escape Rooms and then celebrated our victory with dinner at Maggiano’s.



3rd Annual Family Medicine Interest Group Meet and Greet.
Celebrating our M4s who matched to Family Medicine!


1st Annual Spring Bash at Stone Mountain Park


Staff Appreciation Luncheon at Emory Family Medicine-Dunwoody. Congratulations to Keiko Aziz and Sonja Leflore for winning the Shining Star MVP Award.